8 random facts meme

Clive Shepherd and  Lynn Wernham have both tagged me for the 8 random facts meme.  (Of course, these facts are chosen, and so are never truly random.)

First, apparently, you have to post the rules, then reveal all. Here are the rules:

  1. Post these rules before you give your facts.
  2. List 8 random facts about yourself.
  3. At the end of your post, choose (tag) 8 people and list their names, linking to them.
  4. Leave a comment on their blog, letting them know they’ve been tagged.

And now the eight (not very) random facts about me:

  1. At 1.86 m, 6′ 1″, I am about the right height to be a soccer goal keeper, which I am when time allows. After each game the recovery takes a little longer.
  2. I always decide quickly when handed a menu.
  3. Both my parents are left handed. None of their 4 children is.
  4. I weep at the misuse of apostrophes, and the words unique, disinterested and decimate.
  5. The only food I don’t eat: the gooseberry.
  6. I lived in Istanbul for 5 years. Sadly, my Turkish is now pretty rusty.
  7. My best time on the Cresta Run (from junction) is 54 seconds.
  8. My middle name (the ‘H’) is a constant source of humour to others, and will remain a secret.

This is probably the last meme I will do, as I can’t believe that I am interesting enough to warrant another.  Karyn Romeis has an interesting thread on this.

I am tagging the following, some of whom I know well, and some hardly at all:

  1. Red Sultana
  2. Nigel Paine
  3. Julia Huntsman
  4. Ev Nucci
  5. Hans Feldmeier
  6. Blogpond
  7. Donald Clark
  8. Norman Lamont
3 responses to “8 random facts meme

  1. Hmmm 8 random things…. requires thought (though should require none).
    CB x

  2. I just came across this today, Don. Of course, I’m consumed about the H and entertaining all sorts of possibilities from the exotic to the prosaic.

    I confess to a similar affliction to your number 4. I once knew someone who belonged to the British Society for the Protection of the Apostrophe. I kid you not!

    Can I add my pet peeve to your list of misused words? Mine is momentarily.” The headline act will be appearing momentarily.” Well they’d better appear for longer than that after what I paid for this ticket!

  3. Pingback: The Eight Random Things about me meme | redsultana.com

Leave a Reply

