Duncan Smart vs Doris Lessing

Duncan Smart has started blogging. 

This isn’t the inane blogging of Doris Lessing’s recent notorious Noble prize acceptance speech. It’s high level stuff of a very particular order.

Mind you, it isn’t for everyone.

It isn’t for everyone because it’s rather technical.

In fact, it’s very technical. But I’m glad of that.

You see, a long time ago – a very long time ago – I used to write computer programmes. I wouldn’t say I ‘coded’ or ‘cut code’, because I was a very junior programmer working on PDP-11s at the beginning of the 1980s. Fortan and machine code – nothing you could use these days.

If you can’t remember, or don’t want to, PDP-11s were things the size of a fridge freezer with the calculating power of an iPhone.

I stopped programming to go to university, and never went back. I had learnt that it takes a particular talent to do the job well, and I was only adequate.

And that’s why I’m glad that Duncan’s started blogging.  Reading about the Scintilla Text Editor, Java Script and WebKit reminds me that I made the right career choice in moving away from programming.

And there’s another reason, too: I work with Duncan at InfoBasis, and if I can only half understand the stuff he writes, that has to mean that we’ve got the right players on the team.

http://blog.dotsmart.net/

One response to “Duncan Smart vs Doris Lessing

  1. I read this link today. The intial part is distressing. Can we relate to being hungry for three days? Where kids go to posh schools and demand latest gadgets can they think of being deprived of books? Sometimes I think that my son who is twelve will never appreciate the value of money. Am thankful that India is independent or we would have been just in a similar state. Hey, thanks for sharing this was different but atleast now I know that there are places where there are no books, no water, no food. In India at least if you are willing to work you will not stay hungry. Your posts have really helped me, I was a bit disturbed but these writings helped me stay away from thoughts that were troubling me at that point of time. Accept my gratitude for sharing your knowledge.Now I am addicted to four blogs.Two wonderful friends and writers in my blog too, Scott Brown and Becky o’.

Leave a Reply

