Is training dead? Part 1

Is training dead? That’s the question I’ll be asking in my keynote at the Irish Computer Society’s National IT Training Conference in Dublin on 30th April.

Is it dead? No, of course not. It’s just evolving.

That, though, provokes some questions: what’s it evolving from? What’s it evolving into? And what’s causing the change?

Over the next few weeks I’ll be using my blog to reflect on these issues as I formulate my presentation, summing up my thinking on a topic that has been at the front of mind for the past several years.

Here are some questions, conundrums and paradoxes that I’ll aim to be dealing with:

  • Is all training the same? How does brain surgery training differ from holiday Spanish classes?
  • Is all learning the same? Why is learning your second language different from learning your first? How is learning to swim different from learning to walk?
  • What are the limits of learning technologies?
  • Is the ADDIE model of content production dead?
  • Just what is the role of the training department in the age of Google?
  • Did we ever really have an industrial model for training?

That’s not an outline of the talk, by the way, just some thoughts that my preparations have provoked in me. Throw in some jokes, a couple of 2×2 grids and then you have a presentation.

If you’re attending the conference, or even if you’re not, I would be delighted to hear your thoughts on the topic. Either drop a comment here, or mail me at donaldt [at] learningtechnologies {dot} co {uk}.

One response to “Is training dead? Part 1

  1. Training can’t go out of fashion as we need to learn new tasks everyday. For some we adapt ourselves on our own for some there is informal training imbibed through the environment.

    My daughter has just graduated to class one. I had held a belief that her learning would be unobtrusive. A few days back, I had to take a call on this method of her learning.

    Since she was facing difficulty in learning Hindi letters, she brought me her book with underlined words. I had to sit with her and figure out which letters she was forgetting again and again. We wrote these in a chart and drew the objects starting with these letters and hung it in the room where she can’t miss reading it.

    Since they learn two languages, English and Hindi simultaneously, it is important, I realised that they are helped with this learning.

    So, I think training has to evolve as you said according to the changing environment or the aim of the process of learning suffers.

    It has to be simple and a major chunk of the training should be informal just as you mention that the walk around a place before a serious presentation eased the brain. Besides it is important to know that one learns much more in the work environment by watching. The observation has to be facilitated somehow. Thanks for this simple and elegant post. Belated Easter Wishes.

Leave a Reply

